European Championship: greatest winners and champions

With the Euro 2024 taking place in Germany this summer, it's time to reflect on the countries that have achieved the most success in the history of the European Championship. This article provides an in-depth look at the teams that have won the European Champion title most frequently.

Spain: Three-time Euro Winner

Spain is one of the most successful countries in the history of the UEFA European Championship. They have lifted the Henri Delaunay Trophy a remarkable three times.

  1. 1964: Spain won their first Euro on home soil. After victories against Ireland, Hungary, and ultimately the Soviet Union in the final, they secured the European title.
  2. 2008: The Spanish team, led by players like Fernando Torres, triumphed in Austria and Switzerland. They defeated Germany 1-0 in the final.
  3. 2012: Spain became the first team ever to win consecutive Euros. They convincingly beat Italy 4-0 in the final.

Their stunning series of victories has established them as one of the dominant forces in European football.

Germany: Three-time European Champions

Similar to Spain, Germany has also claimed the European Champion title three times. Germany has a rich history in the Euros, starting with their victories as West Germany.

  1. 1972: West Germany secured their first title in Belgium, with the legendary Gerd Müller scoring twice in the 3-0 victory against the Soviet Union in the final.
  2. 1980: They repeated their success in Italy by defeating Belgium 2-1 in the final.
  3. 1996: Germany, now unified, won their third title in England. Oliver Bierhoff scored the decisive goal in the final against the Czech Republic, marking the first golden goal in an Euro final.

With their strong tradition and numerous successes, Germany has always been a formidable opponent in the Euros.

Italy: Two Timeless Victories

Italy has won the European title twice, with a span of 53 years between their first and second victories.

  1. 1968: Italy won their first Euro in Rome by defeating Yugoslavia in a replay, after the first match ended in a draw.
  2. 2020: Under the guidance of Roberto Mancini, they won their second title after an exciting final against England, which ended in victory after penalties.

The long gap between their victories makes their recent success even more remarkable.

France: Two Triumphs in Their Own Style

France has won the Euro twice, both times in memorable fashion.

  1. 1984: With Michel Platini in top form, France won their first Euro on home soil by defeating Spain in the final.
  2. 2000: After their World Cup victory in 1998, France triumphed again in the Euro held in the Netherlands and Belgium, defeating Italy in the final with a golden goal by David Trezeguet.

Their ability to shine in crucial moments has earned them the trophy twice.

Other Notable Winners

While Spain, Germany, Italy, and France are the most successful teams, there are other notable winners who have left their mark on the Euros:

  • Portugal (2016): Despite a slow start in the group stage, Portugal won their first title by defeating France in the final with a goal from Eder in extra time.
  • Greece (2004): As one of the biggest underdogs in tournament history, Greece won the Euro by defeating host Portugal in the final.

List of Euro Winners

Here is the translation of the list of Euro winners into English:

  • 1960 – Soviet Union (4 teams)
  • 1964 – Spain (4 teams)
  • 1968 – Italy (4 teams)
  • 1972 – West Germany (4 teams)
  • 1976 – Czechoslovakia (4 teams)
  • 1980 – West Germany (8 teams)
  • 1984 – France (8 teams)
  • 1988 – Netherlands (8 teams)
  • 1992 – Denmark (8 teams)
  • 1996 – Germany (16 teams)
  • 2000 – France (16 teams)
  • 2004 – Greece (16 teams)
  • 2008 – Spain (16 teams)
  • 2012 – Spain (16 teams)
  • 2016 – Portugal (24 teams)
  • 2020 – Italy (24 teams)


The UEFA European Championship has a rich history of memorable victories and legendary teams. From Spain's dominance to Germany's consistency, and from Italy's resurgence to France's flair, each championship has its own unique stories. With Euro 2024 approaching, we look forward to new chapters being added to this rich history.

Read all news »
Date published: 16-06-2024 | Date updated: 16-06-2024 | Author: Patrick de Graaf

Share 'European Championship: greatest winners and champions'

Share this message via social media with your family, friends and colleagues!

Discover the biggest winners of the UEFA European Championship. Read about the successes of Spain, Germany, Italy, and more. Get ready for Euro 2024!

About the author of 'European Championship: greatest winners and champions'

Patrick (author and webmaster)

Author of this content is Patrick. I have been playing soccer for more than 25 years and follow the daily news closely. My hobbies include playing football, running and maintaining various websites, in addition to my job as a financial professional.

I do not work for any related company or institution, so the information is reliable and independent. The information has been collected accurately from reliable sources and is regularly updated.